Review: Wet N Wild Liquid Catsuit

Hey everyone! It’s been a minute since my last post! A lot has been going on in my world and I fell out of my blogging habits. But I’m back now and I’m hoping to pick right back up with my twice weekly posts! Today I’m doing a review of the new Wet N Wild Liquid Catsuit Lipsticks!

So, these are Wet N Wild’s take on the liquid lipstick trend that has been happening for the last couple of years. I was skeptical when I first heard about them, as cheap liquid lipsticks have always dried the ever loving crap out of my lips. I decided to start with just one shade, but quickly picked up more These retail for $5, the same price as Colourpop Liquid Lipsticks, and as much as I love Colourpop… I like these better. This is hands down the most comfortable and most longwearing liquid lipstick I’ve ever owned, high end or drugstore. Up until now I thought that title went to the Smashbox Always On Matte Liquid Lipsticks, but these are even better.

IMG_6454.JPG

I currently own these four shades: Nudie Patootie, Rebel Rose, Give Me Mocha, and Missy And Fierce (L-R). I originally picked up Rebel Rose, but I loved the formula so much and Walgreens is currently having a 3/$10 deal so I picked up the other three! I may go back and get more shades, they’re that good.

img_6451So, this is what the applicator looks like. I love this style, not only because it picks up more product, meaning you don’t have to dip back in to get enough to cover you lips, but also because that little curve really hugs your lips. This makes it super easy to get a nice, even coat all over your lips. The fine point also makes it easier to get into hard to reach areas, like the corners of the mouth. While I still recommend using a lipliner, this applicator makes everything so much easier.

img_6412

These are arm swatches of the shades. Again, left to right, this is Nudie Patootie, Rebel Rose, Give me Mocha, and Missy And Fierce. I think they apply much better on the lips than on the arm, as the curved applicator works better to hug lips, not arms.

Ok, so let’s talk about how they feel on the lips. Truth is, they don’t feel like anything. I will often completely forget that I’m wearing one of these. They don’t feel overly dry or crumbly at all. You can laugh and talk and drink and not have to worry about the lipstick cracking or settling. These will last forever. Even swatches were hard to get off using oil cleanser. When it comes to lighter shades, I often worry about that gross buildup on the inside of my lips, but these don’t seem to have that issue. I just really really like the formula, and there are so many shades to choose from. I stayed pretty safe, but there are fuscia shades, hot pink, berry, orange, and some very dark shades. There’s definitely something for everyone, and from what I’ve seen the formula remains consistent between shades.

When applying these, you’ll notice that a lot of product sits in that little curve of the applicator. I recommend wiping a little bit of that off on the edge of the tube. If you apply too much it can feel more dry and not apply as evenly. After lining your lips, apply a thin layer all around. It doesn’t dry down too quickly, so you have plenty of time to carefully apply around the edges of your mouth. DON’T press your lips together! This will make the product look patchy! It’ll dry down within a few minutes and you’ll be good to go for the day!

Who wants lip swatches?! Be warned: these are not perfect. I didn’t use a liner. This is just to give you an idea of what they look like on my skintone and on my lips.

img_6410

This is Nudie Patootie. Ok, this is the shade I’ve been looking for my whole life. It’s a true nude. But it also doesn’t wash me out and make me look dead. But it’s not so warm that it pulls pink on me. It’s the perfect, neutral brown and I’m so happy to have found it. This is the one I was most concerned about developing the gross, white buildup, but it stayed perfect!

img_6421

This is Rebel Rose. It’s a safe, everyday pink. I can see myself using this a lot for work.

img_6444

This is Give Me Mocha, another one I see myself using daily. I love the brown-red color of this one. I would say this is the most likely to get patchy, but it’s not too bad as long as you apply in one, even layer. It’s also maybe slightly drier than the other shades, but it’s barely noticeable!

img_6450

Finally, this is Missy And Fierce. This is a true red, and I’m in love. I would wear this on a night out, or just on a day when I feel like standing out a little.

So, what’s the bottom line? You need to go out and get these NOW! If you like liquid lipsticks, these are perfect for you. And if you have a Walgreens near you, go see if they still have the 3/$10 deal going on! You won’t regret it!

Bonus pictures: Do you want me to do a tutorial on this eye look? I feel like it makes brown eyes pop and it’s a super easy night out look. Let me know!

img_6424img_6423

Don’t forget to like me on my Facebook page!

2 thoughts on “Review: Wet N Wild Liquid Catsuit

Leave a Reply

