Glossier: Product Reviews

If you’ve been part of the internet beauty world, you’ve probably heard of the brand Glossier. The first time I heard about it was on one of emilynoel83’s favorite videos. I’ve admired the products from afar for a long time, and on cyber Monday I took advantage of their 20% off deal and picked up a few products! This is my first experience with this brand, so keep reading if you’re curious!

First things first, let’s talk about how they ship their stuff. When you open your box, you get all your products in this cool little pink bubble wrap zip pouch.

img_6361

Not only is this a great way to protect the products, but you can reuse it for protecting more breakable products (like the darn Becca highlighters) when you travel!

img_6362

It also comes with some cute little stickers! Their packaging is very minimalist, so you can decorate it using all these cure little stickers! I think this is just a really neat touch.

MINT BALM DOTCOM ($12)

The big reason I’ve held off on buying this is because $12 is obscene for a lip balm. I’ve heard rave reviews though, so I finally bit the bullet and picked it up during this sale.

img_6358

I got the mint flavor, because I like the minty feel on my lips, but they also have plain, coconut, rose, and cherry. It’s a squeeze tube and you have to apply it with your fingers, which I’m not a huge fan of, but I sure like it better than tins of lip balm. And I have to admit, y’all… this stuff is pretty darn good.

The moment I put this on my lips I was in love. It went on smooth and my lips were so soft after wearing it for a few hours. My love for this balm is mainly due to the ingredients. Petrolatum, more commonly known as petroleum jelly, is great for locking in moisture to the skin. Castor oil is well known for being a great moisturizer. Lanolin, which is a waxy substance secreted by sheep skin, is up next. Lanolin is great for protecting and repairing skin, so it’s great on the lips. (Pro-tip: if you want straight lanolin for your lips, try Babies R Us. Lanolin is often used by new moms on their sore nipples.) Finally, beeswax! A known commodity, beeswax is great for locking in moisture.

Is it worth $12… Well, I’m not sure. I really like it, but I need more time to decide if it’s that much better than my Jack Black Lip Therapy. But if you’re placing an order and need a little extra something for free shipping, give this a try!

MOISTURIZING MOON MASK ($22)

This is the mask emilynoel83 had in her favorites when I first heard of Glossier, and I’ve been after it ever since!

It looks like a thick cream in the jar, and when you apply a thick layer, as directed, you get a kind of cooling sensation. Washing it off, your skin feels heavenly and plump and soft. I really can’t get enough of this mask. Lately I’ve been applying a thin layer and using it as an overnight mask. My skin has felt incredible in the morning. I don’t have a lot more to say, but I really love this mask. My only issue is the price. I’m not sure it’s worth $22. I have to keep using it and see how often I use it up and how effective it really is over a long period of time.

BOY BROW ($16)

Just to get it out of the way, I hate this name. It’s intended to be a product to fill in naturally thick brows, and anyone who grew up with thick brows will tell you that being told your brows look like a boy’s eyebrows is awful. Anyone can have thick brows, so I’m kind of annoyed by the name. That being said… this is my favorite product of this haul and you can bet your sweet ass I’ll be repurchasing.

Part of what makes this such a great product is the size of the brush. It’s very small, comparable in size for the Benefit Gimme Brow. The other thing that makes this great is the formula. I have pretty full brows, but definitely need to fill some spots in. A lot of brow mascaras don’t actually color in the skin that peaks out beneath my brows, but this one does! Here, it’s easier if I just show you.

Before:

After:

THIS IS JUST USING THE BOY BROW. Normally I have to use both a pencil and brow mascara to achieve this look, but this took literally 30 seconds using the Boy Brow. It’s $16 and worth every single penny. It’s easy to use, has great color payoff, and stays put all day. What more can you ask for? (Keep in mind: I like a fluffier brow than some. This isn’t going to pin your brows all the way down, but I like a more natural finish. If you like a super precise brow, this may not be for you.)


That’s it for today’s review! I hope you enjoyed it! Do you have any brands you think I’d love? Let me know in the comments below! Don’t forget to follow me here and like my Facebook page!

One thought on “Glossier: Product Reviews

Leave a Reply

