Lip Collection Swatches: Pinks & Nudes

Hey everyone! I wanted to make a series of posts showing my lip product collection! This is meant to give you an idea of what these lip products look like on the face and swatched on my hand, and hopefully help you decide if this color is for you! Please keep in mind that these colors are going to look different on everybody, as colors can come off differently depending on your undertones. But hopefully you’ll find this helpful! I’ve organized them by product type and then alphabetically by brand name. I’ll include a small description of each formula under the pictures.

GLOSSES

Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie in Rule Breaker

I don’t super like lipglosses, and this is no exception. The color is great and would look great on top of any nude lipstick, but it’s too sticky for my taste.

NYX Butter Gloss in Creme Brulee

This is probably my favorite lipgloss formula I’ve tried. Alone I can’t stand it, but on top of a nude lip, it looks great and isn’t overly sticky.

Rimmel Stay Glossy in Blushing Belgraves

Again, this one is so sticky. I can’t wear it. Also, it smells like straight up sunscreen. Not a huge fan of that scent right under my nose for extended periods of time.

LIP CRAYONS

Burt’s Bees Lip Crayon in Hawaiian Smolder

The formula is awesome! Very comfortable and not drying at all. For me, this is a little too bright for me to use often, but it’s a great spring or summer shade to just thrown on when you’re in a hurry.

Wet N Wild Megaslicks in Rico Mauve

This is also a great color to throw on when you’re on the go, but I find that I’ll wear this year round while I have to be in a special mood to wear the Burt’s Bees shade.

BULLET LIPSTICKS

Clinique Soft Matte Lipstick in Beauty

This is a very comfortable formula. I think the “matte” part of soft matte is a stretch, but I’m not mad at it. I love this color too. Great for everyday use.

Clinique Matte Lipstick in Matte Magenta

This is another super bright pink that I don’t use often, but it’s a great formula so I keep it around for days when I feel like having lips that pop. This is a very long-wearing formula, which is great since so many neon colors fade and apply patchy. I would highly recommend not just this color, but the whole Matte line from Clinique!

Colourpop Lippie Stix in Brink

This is a great formula, and this is one of my favorite nudes of all time! It’s the perfect warm nude for me, and I feel like it goes with any makeup look.

Colourpop Lippie Stix in Cami

I love this dusty rose type of color! Great for more cool-toned looks. And I really like the Colourpop Lippie Stix formula!

MAC Lipstick in Brave

Another great everyday pink. And you really can’t go wrong with MAC lipstick. The formula is always great.

MAC Lipstick in Velvet Teddy

I wear this to work constantly! It adds just enough color to make you look put together, but not so much that your coworkers will notice if you forget to reapply after lunch. Definitely a staple in my collection.

Maybelline Matte Lipstick in Touch of Spice

The perfect everyday fall color! This is the perfect spicy mauve color and I wear it at least once a week! Also, this is a super comfortable and super long-wearing formula!

Maybelline Matte Lipstick in Nude Nuance

This is a new favorite! It’s the perfect brown with just a teeny tiny hint of pink. This is a great, wearable brown and a great introduction to brown lipstick if you’ve never worn it before!

LIQUID LIPSTICKS

Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipstick in Ashton

I’m super torn on this one. I love the color so so much, but I’m not in love with the formula. It’s a little dry and kinda crumbly. Also, you have to be sure to take all of it off before adding more, which is annoying for retouching on the go. I would say that unless you’re super set on the color, you can probably find a more comfortable liquid lipstick, and it’ll probably be cheaper too.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lipstick in Bad Habit

This is a fun berry shade, but the formula isn’t the best. The Ultra Matte formula is either love it or hate it, and I go back and forth. If I’m going to wear it, I need it prepare my lips and exfoliate and moisturize before I can put it on. If you don’t prepare, it’s definitely a super dry, crumbly formula and you have to take it all off before reapplying, but it does last a long time, which is nice.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lipstick in Bumble

This is a great shade, but it has the same issues as the previous shade did in terms of formula. I almost think the formula is a little bit better than the one in Bad Habit, but I might just be fooling myself because I like the shade a little bit better and I’m willing to put up with it.

Colourpop Ultra Satin Lipstick in Frick N Frack

Not only is this a great shade, but the formula is excellent also! If it sounds like the Ultra Matte formula isn’t for you, give the Ultra Satin formula a try! It’s long wearing, but it doesn’t dry down fully matte. There’s not a lot of transfer once it dries down, but there is some. It’s my favorite of the liquid lipstick formulas Colourpop has.

Colourpop Ultra Satin Lipstick in Baracuda

Another beautiful ultra satin lipstick! I love the grey-brown-rose tone of this lipstick and it’s super duper comfortable!

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita

This is a cult classic for a good reason. The dusty rose color looks great on almost everyone and the formula is pretty comfortable. Pro Tip: Don’t try to do more than one layer. It’ll get tacky and it won’t dry down. Also, don’t rub your lips together. Just apply a thin layer and let it dry. Trust me, you don’t need to slather it on to make it look good.

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita II

Lolita’s softer, sweeter cousin. It’s a little more on the terra cotta side, but with the same great formula as the original. This was definitely a happy accident in the kat Von D lab! (For context, this color arose from a weird batch of Lolita that got send out and people like this color so much that they just made it a permanent color.)

Maybelline Color Jolt in Stripped Down

These are everything I wanted Too Faced Melted Lipsticks to be, at a fraction of the price. Super comfy, smells great (like watermelon candy) and is easy to apply. I’m definitely planning on picking more of these up!

Milani Amore Matte Lip Creme in Loved

This a super comfortable formula and it’s a fraction of the price of some others on this list. It dries completely matte, no transfer, but it doesn’t dry my lips out. Also, it smells like cupcakes! I would highly recommend starting with these if you’re just getting into liquid lipsticks.

NYX Liquid Suede in Sandstorm

Another affordable product with a great formula! These don’t dry down completely, but they’re still comfortable and long wearing and have a wide range of colors to choose from! Another great place to start if you’re new to liquid lipstick!

NYX Liquid Suede in Soft Spoken

Same comments as the previous shade on formula. This color is actually a pretty good dupe for Lolita by Kat Von D!

Sephora Cream Lip Stain in 05

Wow, these are amazing. I’ve had this one for probably a little too long, but it’s still wonderful. It’s comfortable and has a little bit of a frosty finish. Sephora brand lip products are actually super great, and a more affordable option to play with before you buy the more expensive stuff.

That’s it for my nudes and pinks post! Stay tuned for the other color families, coming soon!

Don’t forget to follow me here on WordPress and like my Facebook page for updates!

Leave a Reply

